Sign in to follow this  
jmellidg

Problem with the analog board in a Mac512ke

Hi, I'm a vintage macs loving and I'm very proud of fix a lot of 8 different classic macs (reading the great books of Larry Pina!!!). I have skills in soldering and I'm learning about electronics by practice. Until now, I have a high degree of success!! until now. I'm the owner of a 512Ke that shows a lot of tiny vertical lines at startup. There's sound, no friendly bong, just something like "grrrrr" no matter.

I try to fix it and I saw my first surprise. It has a macsnap 3 memory and scsi expansión cards. The scsi card was free inside the box, no attached to the roms socket.I atached the scsi card, and resolder the yoke conector J1.

No success, same result. I'm think in a memory or ROM error, so I think that it would be a great idea to swap the logical board with the logic board of a mac Plus. I have a 220 V macPlus and my 512ke it's a 120 V, but I think that probably it works. I'm seeking in the internet and i didn't see nothing to not to do it.

Well, I changed the logical motherboard and turn it on. The fuse blow up. I was worried because I don't know why..After check out the motherboard, and saw no damages (at least at first sight), I thoght that I must changed the power supply and connect the 220 cable, not the 120 one (I have it together..) so I replace the 2,5 A fuse with the one that I have 5 A, thinking that everything it would be ok... mistake...

When I powered it on, a Little burn was in the neighborhood of the Q10. 4 or 5 resistor burned and the q10 literally annihilate .. jejeje

It was a very, very dumb mistake, I know..

Anyway, I would like to question you about this things..

- Is there any problem trying to do what I've done, swapping the logical boards??

- If no, what do you think about the first fuse crash?? Changing the voltage sources?? other reason??

- What do you think about the second problem?? Caused by the first one?? the same reason of the first crash??