Sign in to follow this  
winterlight

ibook G4 HDD surgery

Hi guys,

I'm new to macs in general so please takee it easy on me... :b&w:

I just recently got an iBook G4 and want to replace the HDD with an SSD.

Two issues that people have mentioned but seem to have no hard information about:

1 - The pin set-up of the original HDD.  Some people have told me it's not a normal sized IDE.  It's smaller.  I can't really tell from the pictures on the internet so I'm hoping someone has done this before and can tell me definitively

2- Sata 3 to PATA.  The SSD I want to use is a normal 2.5" SATA 3 HDD.  Once again, "people online" have said that SATA3 won't work with the PATA interface not matter what adapter I use.  I have no idea about this.

So has anyone tried using a plain old SSD in an iBook G4?  (It's the A1134 (14") model btw)

Given the above I see that there are such things as PATA SSDs on Amazon. 

https://www.amazon.com/128GB-KingSpec-2-5-inch-SM2236-Controller/dp/B0091T4ZWU/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1475294391&sr=8-5&keywords=ide+ssd

Maybe that's easier? Anyone think that will work?

Thanks for your patience guys.

Ebay would be a better source than Amazon, unless you like getting your wallet raped. I find Amazon too expensive on small things, which is why I say that.

I have several G3/G4 iBooks & PowerBooks with SSDs. The connector is a STANDARD 2.5 inch Drive connector - NOT A 3.5 inch. There is no way you are getting a 3.5 inch drive inside a iBook!

Here you have several options for an SSD in the iBook. But note that the iBook as either an ATA-66 or ATA-100 interface, using a SATA Drive in my mind would be a waste, especially a SATA-3.