SCSI2SD wont boot on MAC SE, shows up under SCSIProbe as tape drive

I have been trying to get my Mac SE FDHD to boot using SCSI2SD.   I have been tinkering with it on and off for a few months with no success.  I finally got a copy of SCSIProbe to see what was going on.  Booted with System 6.0.8 and SCSIProbe 4.3.  SCSIProbe showed the problem, the Mac thinks they are tape drives.

SCSIProbe_results.thumb.jpeg.b9a81d2499953c526682ac0012bc6aa2.jpeg

I have tried both a v6 and a v5.2 hardware and both are updated to latest firmware.  I have tried using the builtin termination and an external termination.  I have tried playing around with the vendor and product id to see no change.  The config file for the screenshot above is attached.  I was trying different settings to see if would make a difference on any one of the four partitions.  The actual partition layout of the SD is attached too.  The SD contains a system 7.5.3 configuration with four drives total.

I dont understand why it shows up as a tape drive and why the vendor, product get garbled.  But, it definitely explains why the MAC wont boot from it.

Does anyone have any ideas?  Anything else to try?

tested_cfg.xml SD partitions

Tried a nice simple 2GB partition with 6.0.8 and reconfigured SCSI2SD.  Followed http://www.savagetaylor.com/2018/01/05/setting-up-your-vintage-classic-68k-macintosh-using-a-scsi2sd-adapter/.

Wouldnt boot either.  So a quick check of SCSIProbe gives me a single tape drive again.  I then unplugged the power and removed the SCSI cable to the SCSI2SD and rescanned for devices just to verify the "tape drive" went away, and it did.  In addition SCSIProbe warned me that the bus was terminated with the SCSI2SD removed. 

So, it seems the SCSI2SD is kinda of working.  I just dont know if its the SCSI2SD acting weird, a bad config, misidentification by SCSIProbe, or a strangely flakey SCSI on this MAC SE.