Radius Lemans GT or Radius Thunder IV/GT?

Hey all,

I've got the opportunity to purchase a Radius Lemans GT or a Radius Thunder IV/GT (1152)

I really can't find much information on the Lemans other than what I can find here on the MLA.

If I were to purchase the Thunder, it would come with a PhotoEngine card, but not the daughtercard version. The person I would be buying it from says the photoengine card is a separate NuBus Card. I had no Idea that they made those. My question is, if I were able to source the daughtercard version of the PhotoEngine, would it work on the Thunder, thus turning it into a IV GX 1152? Where would I go about sourcing a daughtercard? I'd love to keep a Nubus slot free if I can.

Thoughts or opinions? I have no experience with NuBus Video Cards (yet.)

B.

The odds of finding the correct DSP daughter card for a Thunder IV is pretty low these days. I think Radius did make a 4 DSP Nubus card which few apps really use. The major differences in the Thunder IV cards is RAM for resolution and color depth. People pay crazy money for the top end 1600, the lower end 1152 with no DSP card is much cheaper.

Yep, just checked, PhotoEngine has the same four AT&T DSPs as the 1600's Daughtercard.

Since the DSPs support Photoshop filters running on the CPU over NuBus, there's probably no difference in performance between the two configurations, just the freed up slot as mentioned.

PhotEngine is a NuBus 90 card, BTW.

Thanks for the help! Now I know. I would ideally, like to find the 1360 IV GX. that way i could push 1280x1024 @24bit. I feel like $75 might be a bit much for the 1152, I can do 1152 with the 24XK. That and the fact that i'll have to use a second nubus slot in my Q950 for photoshop acceleration makes me think i should look around for a little longer.

B.

I suppose that is a good point. Since you and Trash80 seem to be the authority on NuBus Video Cards around here, do you think that the IV/GT would be faster than the Lemans or a 24xk?