Newbie could use some help with half-dead SE/30

First post here ... hope you don't mind me asking for some help.

I was lucky to get my hands on an SE/30 for free last week, but it won't boot. The fan runs, and it starts with the familiar bing in the speaker, but the screen is dead ('cept for some glow in the tube in the back) and there is no sound whatsoever from the floppy or hdd. It has a NIC which blinks green once when I switch the power on and once more when I turn the computer off. That's it.

Any suggestions as to where I should start diagnosing this thing?

I've gone so far as to open the cabinet and looked around. The thing is suprisingly dusty and dirty inside, but there are no specific visual give-aways. No burn marks, no bulging caps, no obvious corrosion, etc.

I'm a newbie when it comes to Macs but have plenty of experience with the soldering iron and poking around in high voltage appliances (such as tube amplifiers).

Thanks for any tips!

Grow a beard and its female on top of that! LOL!

Tonebender - use your nose, is there a Fish Smell? A Fish Smell, no matter how slight, would indicate that the caps on the logic board has leaked.  SE\30 Macs have a bad reputation of having their capacitors' seal break down and leak cap-goo everywhere, causing corrosion on a microscopic scale. This requires that the board be washed in an Ammonia & Distilled Water bath to neutralize the cap-goo acid, and then scrape it down with acetone with a tooth brush and rinse with high  proof Isopropyl Alcohol before getting the board recapped.

You can recap the board your self or pay somebody to do it. Forum member Uniserver has an excellent reputation of recapping Mac Logic boards, and brought mine from the brink  death - literally! I recommend him. The caps are Surface Mounted so that requires something different in term of soldering that you may have done with Tube Amps.