nahuelmarisi

lisa floppy drive

I've been trying to find a suitable replacement for my lisa 2's floppy drive (it didn't come with one).

I have tried an SE 800k and a Plus 400k floppy drive. What happens is that the drive keeps trying to eject a floppy (even is there's nothing there) all the time. SO it's constantly doing the eject noise. Both drivers work fine on their machines.

Could it be that my lisa's floppy drive controller is damaged? or it just doesn't support mac 800k drives (even if it recognises them as 400k)?

Any solutions? or is my lisa doomed as a lisaquarium?

i have no experience what so ever with lisa's but i'd say try a floppy drive from a 128k mac before you discount the floppy controller

and do look for na axternal 128 k floppy drive

no need to maul a working 128 k

or is my lisa doomed as a lisaquarium?

Please don't. Have some patience, you may be in it for the long haul, but it's worth it to stick with the plan of making it more of a computer instead of less.

Plus, most people's aquarium efforts end up looking like shite.

or is my lisa doomed as a lisaquarium?

Please don't. Have some patience, you may be in it for the long haul, but it's worth it to stick with the plan of making it more of a computer instead of less.

Plus, most people's aquarium efforts end up looking like shite.

Even a dead Lisa would probably fetch a good price on eBay so, yes, that would be a bad idea.

i didn't mean it literally.

I could never really be bothered in making an aquarium, less alone taking care of fish :p

I meant that if it was doomed to be unused, just being a museum item.

It works fine, it's just the floppy and Hd missing. But that makes it useless unfortunately. I'll try to find one though, I'm not going to give up yet. Otherwise i'll probably sell it, i like having machines I can use on my collection. I just thought it would be easier to get it working with a mac drive.