ArmorAlley

AdobePS & PostScript Printers

A neighbour gave me an Oki C321dn because she had finished her studies and didn't need it no more.

It is a PostScript printer but comes with no drivers for Mac OS 9. It does have drivers for Mac OS X 10.3 onwards and I have installed PostScript drivers for both Ubuntu and Windows 10.

I have installed the Adobe PostScript driver (AdobePS) v8.8 on my PM 8100/400 but nothing appears when I click the AdobePS driver in Chooser. It is not seen on the network. The Oki page gives PPDs for Linux which I have downloaded and put into the Printer Description folder in Extensions. The OS is 9.0.4. The Powermac can get online and both the Windows machine and Ubuntu can see it.

What am I doing wrong? Am I simply expecting too much from generic PostScript printers? I have never used the AdobePS before but I have heard a lot about it. I was under the impression that all PostScript printers were supported. If AdobePS is the way to go, would someone kindly point me in the right direction please?

Thanks very much.

Edited by ArmorAlley

Unless the printer supports AppleTalk, you can't print to it using the LaserWriter or the AdobePS drivers. Looking at the spec sheet, it doesn't appear this printer's network card has AppleTalk support.

42 minutes ago, NJRoadfan said:

Unless the printer supports AppleTalk, you can't print to it using the LaserWriter or the AdobePS drivers. Looking at the spec sheet, it doesn't appear this printer's network card has AppleTalk support.

Yes, that's the gotcha.    The older Xerox Phaser printers' data/spec sheet had a field for "network protocols" or some such.  That's where tcp/ip, spx/ix (?)  and Appletalk would be listed.  They don't specify those things any more.  It can be very difficult to determine what network protocols are supported.  They have dumbed it down to just telling  you want OS's they think they support.