cyelvington

New case of Simasimac -- at my wit's end!

Hello, I'm new to the forums. Been lurking for a while. Anyhow, I just pulled my SE/30 out of storage, got it recapped, washed the motherboard in my dishwasher, and I'm dealing with Simasimac. No chime, and horizontal stripes. A few times I've gotten a slow death chime. I can't see anything wrong with my motherboard at all -- I've tried reseating the ROM and RAM, and I've scrubbed a few spots on the board with 91% alcohol, and still no dice. Here is a photo of the board ( the upload to forum route didn't work for me.) BTW, the battery is new. https://imgur.com/a/VzRywq0

I'm new to all of this, don't understand the schematics, and I just want my SE/30 to work again. I've got 4MB of replacement RAM and a replacement stock ROM SIMM on the way, but that's basically my last-ditch effort. I'd be willing to send my board to anyone on here in the US that could help. I'm in Memphis, TN, if anyone might be in my vicinity.

Thank you in advance, and I'm sorry if I violated any rules by just jumping in and asking for help.

Edited by cyelvington

Nice cap job!  Very clean.  Many times in cases like these the issue is actually a trace, VIA, et al. that is damaged causing the issue.  Please rest assured, you are not the only vintage Mac owner whose reached your wit's end.  Also, please don't fear to ask for help.  The SE/30 is a favorite around here and we are all happy to help.  That said, I'm not the most experience in this department as I've given up on more than my fair share of SE/30 boards.  But trust me, it will be worth it once you fix the issues.