Faust

SE/30 repair (and a little problem).

Hello everyone, new here but I have been a lurker for some time now.

A few months back after much hunting around I finally found an SE/30 of my very own (as well as two Classics that were part of a set) and had begun work on fixing it off and on. At first the task was intimidating given that its my first time ever doing an SMD Cap repair. That said after some time and patience I was able to accomplish and fix the board! 

20190823_203459.thumb.jpg.81bcdc32c7d730ff0c632a00d89ae6ec.jpg20190823_225540.thumb.jpg.45d5ca898b9ff9ec864902ba4a48ce47.jpg

20190824_082900.thumb.jpg.9b9f6ecaf99d40b47b821648eb123814.jpg

All was going great (and even the HDD worked surprisingly enough!) However I seem to have an issue with the Floppy drive. The drive has definitely seen better days as it was covered and full of dust and gunk. Despite careful cleaning, application of White lithium grease and extreme carefulness to clean the heads with a swab and alcohol, I get the (mostly consistent) same issue of a Floppy read, Happy Mac and then ejection. 

20190824_224434.thumb.jpg.e778ddf49901f8216e20ee6895963191.jpg

After some time testing some disks eventually one did boot up, however it looked to be a fluke of luck than any consistency. I cannot be too sure if the disks I have are rubbish or if the drive is dead (or worse I missed something on the board). Needless to say the next option I had to my person was to pull out another Floppy drive from one of the Classic Macs I got in part of this collection. This one was in far better condition but despite everything it still produced the same mostly consistent issue of Happy Mac and Ejection. 

20190824_223424.thumb.jpg.c70a274aad606fa2155ee94eacf9dc51.jpg