Storm

Mac IIci capacitor damage

Hi,

I'm new to this wonderful forum and I just got a really cheap IIci with a little bit of work to do.

It seems the SMD-capacitors leaked a little bit and left some components with nasty green legs :(

I already got replacement caps and removed the old ones very carefully. As I can see the pads are still in "working" order.

Any recommendations for cleaning the green stuff?

DSC_0336.JPG

DSC_0337.JPG

DSC_0338.JPG

DSC_0339.JPG

Ok thanks I will try that.

What are my chances that the components still work when they got the green stuff on it?

Is there a schematic where I can find the types of the IC's so I can replace them if needed?

Generally as long as it's just green fuzz, you'll be able to clean it off and it'll just work(tm). There are some exceptions, like in a Mac IIcx the cap leakage likes to ruin the power-on circuitry and you'll never be able to turn the computer off again but that's a minor issue. More or less all the IC part numbers are directly on top of the chip. A few are Apple proprietary but those wouldn't be available 2nd hand anyway unless you pulled from another board.

Edited by Compgeke

Ok lets hope it works out :)

I cannot read anything on some IC's, they seem to have no part numbers on it. For example the UB2-Chip for left sound or the one for the right

Your board shows signs of battery damage at some point (rusty battery holder) and rust in the board itself. 

Look under the battery holder, some traces can be damaged. 

Edited by bibilit

I just replaced all the capacitors on the logic board and the power supply.

Now when I turn it on (via button on the rear), it powers up but shows only a grey screen with no chime. I also tried different memory sticks in both banks but that didn't help.

Any idea whats wrong with it now?

Did you clean the board, and I mean really clean the board after recapping? Cap goo gets under chips and causes weird issues until really cleaned.