Classic Macintosh GUI programming thoughts

I was curious what people's opinions were on the state of GUI programming on old Macs. Here goes my rambling post on the subject, hopefully this is enough to get a discussion going. :D

For some background, I am new to Mac programming but experienced with programming in general. I have been doing a fair amount of programming using the Retro68 console recently, but now I'm looking to create some more GUI-based applications, so they can feel more "Mac-like".

I've been pouring through the books "Inside Macintosh: Macintosh Toolbox Essentials" and "Inside Macintosh: More Macintosh Toolbox" along with some other resources online, and have been playing around a bit manipulating the "MenuSample" test app from this blog post: http://www.toughdev.com/content/2018/12/developing-68k-mac-apps-with-codelite-ide-retro68-and-pce-macplus-emulator/.

I'm forming some opinions that I'm wondering if I should be swayed on: 

• programming against the Macintosh Toolbox is cumbersome, difficult to use
  • for example, even creating a textbox to handle input on the screen requires multiple steps across multiple files (res file definition + handling in code and the code is non-trivial compared to how one might do it today)
  • it is difficult to define layouts and respond to size changes. adding lots of elements to a window and dealing with them is pretty hard
  • this is probably hindering the creation of at least a subset of new Mac apps that could be getting developed... Personally I think there is a lot of interest but the barrier to entry is high
  • GUI programming has advanced a lot in the last 30 years and even basic GUI libraries do a lot more for the programmer these days
  • Programmers writing software for Macs in the 80s and 90s were heroes. It's amazing what they accomplished with the tooling and resources that they had

Am I wrong about any of that? What do you think?