Serial-based remote code execution idea for enabling modern software on classic Macs

Hey everyone, 

I'm a long time programmer and have recently become interested in classic Macs. My family had a Mac Plus when I was a kid and I've been recently thinking about how interesting it would be to make a machine like that "useful" again. The thought has been keeping me up at night recently, and now I've come up with what I think might be a solution.

Firstly, this approach does not allow old software to become internet connected or anything like that. It is purely aimed at creating new software or allowing the creation of new software.

My idea is to create a modern piece of software that allows programmers on any old machine to hand off work loads off to a modern machine over the serial port and get a response back that they can then interact with. This software will provide a standard interface for serial-connected devices to provide code to execute.

For my first approach, I am going to have workloads all be in modern nodejs. I like nodejs because it has a vast ecosystem of easy to use packages via npm, and if you are using an old computer, should be "fast enough" to do whatever it is you are trying to do. 

Now, I can say all that and it's easy to do so without having written any code. I decided to write some code and I have a loose first attempt with a more technical README up at: https://github.com/CamHenlin/coprocessor.js I've proven to myself that the strategy can basically work via unit tests.

The next step for me is to get serial working with an old Macintosh emulator (I don't have a real Macintosh yet :( - so expensive on eBay!), then begin work on a C library to wrap the serial communications on the classic Macintosh end. I will publish this library on GitHub as well with very easy instructions.