peterstory

Where to start with 3 Mac IIs?

I recently recovered three Macintosh IIs from the trash at my work. I'm hoping that between the three of them, I'll be able to create at least one working machine. Below I've documented what I have. So far, I haven't been able to get video output from any of the Macs. I consider myself an expert on modern Macs, but a complete novice on anything pre-Power PC. If y'all could guide me to the point when I can get video output from one of the Macs, that would be tremendously helpful!

Accessories

• Two Mac video adaptors, pictured below. I can't find anything about these online. I've tried several of the settings with all of the Macs, but nothing has worked so far, so I think I need a more systematic approach. 
  • Modern Acer V213H monitor (1080p native) with VGA input
  • ADB keyboard and mouse

IMG_2355.thumb.JPG.0102d5d08f73364f80eff83230335f62.JPGIMG_2356.thumb.JPG.4a297e3a98f045200546869f0329f136.JPG

Computer 1: Macintosh IIci

• All RAM slots full
  • 2 expansion cards with video ports
  • Hard drive is noisy, possibly failing?
  • When plugged in, the power light turns on, but there is no startup chime

IMG_2358.thumb.JPG.27ce7ff4b55ca02cfb7513f17f8b8cc8.JPGIMG_2359.thumb.JPG.c7b1b350f2022761835f532becc077c0.JPG

Computer 2: Macintosh IIci

• Some RAM slots empty
  • No hard drive
  • When plugged in, gives an error startup chime

IMG_2360.thumb.JPG.e288e764cbde2c7e69b70f7c4faa10d3.JPGIMG_2361.thumb.JPG.0be48adaee2330f2796d2553c92f9622.JPG

Computer 3: Macintosh IIcx

• All RAM slots full
  • 2 expansion cards with video ports
  • When plugged in, the power light flashes, and there is no startup chime

IMG_2363.thumb.JPG.6ddd72a3cfaf354b6bab4927f4a5b538.JPGIMG_2364.thumb.JPG.6bdb657c33d63576c1689a40b407df7d.JPG

On ci #1 and cx #3, the cards closest to the power supply are ethernet cards rather than video cards.  The 15 pin connector there is an AUI connector