RC14

• Content Count

• Last visited

Profile Information

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

1. RC14

Apple ][ Plus Woes

I have soldered the joint and it now appears to be solid (the joint no longer twists), but the computer still doesn't output a signal. Any other tips? I'm rather confused because it was working for the first day or so in my possession, so it seems natural to me that the video jack would have failed after I plugged it in a few times. I actually learned to solder specifically for this and I may have messed up, so attached is a photo of the connection - please excuse the dust! !
  2. RC14

Connecting a Newton to a Raspberry Pi

I'd be interested in seeing how that works!
  3. RC14

Performa 575 Issues

Firstly, I have no prior experience with these systems and couldn't find a manual (or really any information at all) online. That said, my 575 boots to a question mark. I've been trying to boot from a CD-RW in the CD-ROM drive, but that doesn't seem to work (and when I eject the CD, it's still in the same position as when I put it in). I'm assuming then that the CD-ROM drive is non-functional. How would I go about fixing that, and is the only other way to install an OS using a floppy disk? I found this link but have no real wish to write to 21 floppies (I'd much rather just fix the CD-ROM drive and boot off of that if possible). Also, what is the best OS to run? Thanks - I'm sure much of this is common knowledge, but I just for the life of me couldn't find anything!