All Forums
 Lounge
 Best ISP?
Author Topic  
Wonkothesane

USA
506 Posts
Posted - 15 Feb 2002 :  12:09:00
I want everyone's opinion on this, so I'm posting it here. What is the cheapest ISP with the best support for OS X, Linux , and the classic Mac OS? I want to switch ISP's (I am currently using AOL ) and want a real, cheaper ISP.

Wonko The Sane
Engineer-in-training
3 Macs Liberated
"You can't possibly be a scientist if you mind people thinking that you're a fool."- Wonko The Sane

cinemafia
Guerrilla Recon Leader

USA
2965 Posts
Posted - 15 Feb 2002 :  12:29:38
I'm assuming you mean dial-up ISP's, correct?

My favorite would be Earthlink. Lots of access numbers, easy TCP/IP configuration, broad OS support, good tech support. $22 a month, unlimited.

Otherwise...

AppleISP is another good choice. They don't have as many access #'s as Earthlink, but are growing rapidly. Broad OS support, however, I have no experience with their texaport. $15 a month, unlimited.

Both companies only tech-support OS 8 and above, however, that doesn't mean you can't connect to them using 7.x (because you can), they just won't help you do it.

666th poster to the
68K Macintosh Liberation Army Forums

Mod of the Mac II series Forums
Total 68K Macs liberated: 7
Visit my site!

Edited by - cinemafia on 15 Feb 2002 12:30:37Go to Top of Page

Wonkothesane

USA
506 Posts
Posted - 15 Feb 2002 :  13:23:55
quote:

Yes.
I was considering those two, but does AppleISP support Windows and Linux?
Oh, and my location is a factor, too: I live in Brooklyn, NY. Maybe someone can point me to a good local ISP?

Wonko The Sane
Engineer-in-training
3 Macs Liberated
"You can't possibly be a scientist if you mind people thinking that you're a fool."- Wonko The SaneGo to Top of Page

cinemafia
Guerrilla Recon Leader

USA
2965 Posts
Posted - 15 Feb 2002 :  13:50:19