PowerBook
 Trying to recover PB 150
Author Topic  
molemi
Starting Member

Germany
3 Posts
Posted - 27 Nov 2003 :  05:34:02
Hi Folks! After many years of Apple-free life I now inherited a PowerBook150 and would like to try to run it (have some affection for the 68k as I was born 1968). Unfortunately I have no idea how such a machine works, but I have some decent experience in opening and repairing simple prooblems in IBM hardware, desktop and laptop machines running Gates and Torvalds Oss...
Now, the PB 150 starts, shows a mouse pointer that I can move and displays a floppy symbol with a question mark. I understand this as a request for a floppy but were do I get a floppy from whih this machine can boot? Are there raw images on the web somewhere? Couldn't google for such a thing... and I remember that Apple had a different floppy File System. How about File Systems on the Harddisk? Can I put the harddisk in a IBM machine and build a corect file system for the mac on it? Or any other suggestions how I could rebuild the system?
Thanks so much!
:-J
maclover5
LC Doctor/Hot Rodder

Australia
5830 Posts
Posted - 27 Nov 2003 :  05:47:05
What i would do is to try and get my hands on another Mac with a floppy drive and an internet connection, and go here and make up some System 7.5.3 floppy images, and install it that way. As for putting in a HD from a PC, the PB150 will take any 2.5" laptop IDE drive.

Hope this helps

"**** em" - Jobs in regards to customers
Warrior maclover5
68kMLA

Official 68kMLA Detective
Number of 68ks Liberated: 7
Number of Contraband (PPC) Liberated from the Dumpster: 1Go to Top of Page

ElBaroni
Starting Member

Australia
14 Posts
Posted - 27 Nov 2003 :  12:44:03
This should tell you what you want to know.

http://macfaq.org/software/macos.shtml#Q1.1.6

The PC doesn't like writing bootable mac os floppy images, although there is software available to make Windows read HFS (the Hierarchical File System).

Cheers, and good luck!