68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums
68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums
Home | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Quadra / Centris
 Quadra 950
Author Topic  
The Balance Of Judgement
Senior Member


Ivory Coast
1006 Posts
Posted - 28 Aug 2003 :  20:29:35
My trade is complete with Kami, and I now have a Quadra 950. It has a 1GB drive in it and 40MB ram.

The inside of the case looks like it has room for one more hard disk, but it seems there is a missing bracket. The SCSI cable is long enough and is velcroed in place as if there is to be another rack. Anywhere I can find parts for one? And how do I get a replacement key?

The unit is really cool, because it has AV, I can just send the signal over to the 8600 and have a virtual KVM. :)

Does anyone know if AUX will run on a Q950 as-is? This one doesn't have that special card the WGS came with. If it can, all the more!

And if it can, does AUX work with the AV circiuts? I guess that's be a bummer for my KVM idea if not. :/

maclover5
LC Doctor/Hot Rodder


Australia
5830 Posts
Posted - 28 Aug 2003 :  21:30:09
1. A/UX will run fine on the 950.

2. The RCA ports on the 950 aren't AV ports. They're line out ports.

"**** em" - Jobs in regards to customers
Warrior maclover5
68kMLA

Official 68kMLA Detective
Number of 68ks Liberated: 7
Number of Contraband (PPC) Liberated from the Dumpster: 1Go to Top of Page

~Coxy
Leader, Tactical Ops Unit


Australia
2822 Posts
Posted - 29 Aug 2003 :  01:16:56
quote:

1. A/UX will run fine on the 950.

2. The RCA ports on the 950 aren't AV ports. They're line out ports.


Line in ports, dude.
Two ports which are muxed internally to give you mono recording.

~Coxy - Leader, Tactical Operations Unit
Mayor of NuBus City v3.0
Go to Top of Page

The Balance Of Judgement
Senior Member


Ivory Coast
1006 Posts
Posted - 29 Aug 2003 :  01:33:17
Wekk AUX being ableto run is good by me. That's more than I expected. I've always wanted to try it.

And I have an extra CD I can use with that machine, so off we go to the AUX races!

Go to Top of Page

maclover5
LC Doctor/Hot Rodder


Australia
5830 Posts
Posted - 29 Aug 2003 :  02:52:07
quote:

Line in ports, dude.
Two ports which are muxed internally to give you mono recording.

~Coxy - Leader, Tactical Operations Unit
Mayor of NuBus City v3.0


Ah, right. Well i haven't touched a Q950. The only machine anything like that i've touched is a WGS 9150, and that was 2 years ago. Sosumi. Either way, you're gonna have a lot of fun with that box, BoJ.

"**** em" - Jobs in regards to customers
Warrior maclover5
68kMLA

Official 68kMLA Detective
Number of 68ks Liberated: 7
Number of Contraband (PPC) Liberated from the Dumpster: 1Go to Top of Page

wisof
Junior Member


USA
257 Posts
Posted - 29 Aug 2003 :  15:52:38
and the key is a must have. . .I've seen em on ebay. . .
I just got a q950. I've seen keys on server boxes before, so I assumed that is what it was. Key will probably be a little more than what you will want to pay, but is very cool. . .just checked ebay and I couldn't find any (very quick search).

_____________________________________________
I have a problem with vintage electronics. . .I am working on it.

Performa 630CD
Performa637CD
Centris 610
Quadra 630
Quadra 950
Quadra 605
SE
Giant 80mb SCSI HD
Giant 100mb SCSI HDGo to Top of Page

Unknown_K
Full Member


USA
602 Posts
Posted - 29 Aug 2003 :  16:47:26
You have to buy key and lock combinations since each key/lock is different


Go to Top of Page

The Balance Of Judgement
Senior Member


Ivory Coast
1006 Posts
Posted - 30 Aug 2003 :  22:21:03
Today I purchased the USB card to get the Burner working, so I will be creating an AUX CD and setting up the Quadra 950. I won't be able to put it online just yet, I need to find a cheap Ethernet Adapter for it so it can hook online.

Besides, my ISP still hasn't corrected that problem yet, so far my one machine has a downtime since Friday the 22nd. So, they will be reinbursting me for that, that's for sure.

Go to Top of Page

foetoid
Full Member


USA
554 Posts
Posted - 30 Aug 2003 :  22:43:03
quote:

You have to buy key and lock combinations since each key/lock is different

Is that really true? the key that was with my 950 works in my WGS95...

________________
foetoid, that's (fee-toy-duh)
http://www.foetoid.doesntexist.com
da band: http://www.burningabbey.comGo to Top of Page

cory5412
68KMLA Comrade-in-Arms


USA
4679 Posts
Posted - 02 Sep 2003 :  10:48:48
wow... so many people with q950's ;)

good luck!

One day I'll have to hop on the Duo and the Q950 BandWagon(TM)

Will this be a webserver? ;)

Official 68k videographer
Official MLA TourGuide
Editor of the MLAgazine
"I'm just a normal computer geek who somehow landed a social life"Go to Top of Page

q950
Junior Member


USA
135 Posts
Posted - 07 Sep 2003 :  13:24:13
The keys are supposed to be different between the different computers. I own a WGS 9150 and a quadra 950 and they both use same looking but differently cut keys. Before I bought a new lockset on ebay for the quadra, I took the lockset to a lockshop and had them make a key for five bucks, didnt look as nice as the apple keys, but it worked fine.

Logan

Quadra 950, Workgroup Server 9150, Performa 6400, Powerbook 2300c, 4x Quadra 700's, iBookGo to Top of Page

wisof
Junior Member


USA
257 Posts
Posted - 07 Sep 2003 :  23:35:34
how necessary is this key to tBoJ's Q950? The BoJ wants to run AUX, not lock it and take the key and put it on his key chain. I do admit the key/lock is nice, and raaad, and white/silverish in color, and pretty, and I am sure it serves a special purpose in life, but is it esseintial to running AUX on a Q950?

_____________________________________________
I have a problem with vintage electronics. . .I am working on it.

Performa 630CD,Performa637CD,Centris 610,Quadra 630,Quadra 950,Quadra 605,SE,Giant 80mb SCSI HD,Giant 100mb SCSI HD

Edited by - wisof on 07 Sep 2003 23:37:36Go to Top of Page

~tl
Junior Member


United Kingdom
312 Posts
Posted - 08 Sep 2003 :  13:10:52
quote:
how necessary is this key to tBoJ's Q950? The BoJ wants to run AUX, not lock it and take the key and put it on his key chain. I do admit the key/lock is nice, and raaad, and white/silverish in color, and pretty, and I am sure it serves a special purpose in life, but is it esseintial to running AUX on a Q950?

well, if its locked you cant do much with it ;) ... um but getting a new key shouldnt be too hard (you wont get an "apple" key, but should be able to get one that works) just take the lock mechinism to a key cutters and ask them to make a key for it

Orcadian MLA Division
68ks Liberated: 2Go to Top of Page

   

68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums

2001-2003 68kMLA

Go To Top Of Page

68k of the Week: kastegir's PowerBook 180.