68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums
Home | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Balloon Help
 How to get my Macintosh TV running and networked.
Author Topic  
elementforlife
Starting Member

4 Posts
Posted - 23 Jul 2003 :  19:47:47
I'm new to this 68k stuff, but your whole MLA is freakin awesome! I have a question now...i bought this Macintosh TV for 45 dollars, brand new, never been used, mint condition, but i didn't get the box with it .

Well i started it up and booted onto the included system 7.1 cd-rom. problem is it won't recognize the hard drive, so i decided to order a new one, but now that i realize this machine is brand new and has never been used, im not so sure it was the hard drives fault. What could be wrong? I would have bought the 1.2 GB hard drive to replace then 160MB one anyway.

And once i get the machine running how do i network it? i had a friend steal me an rj-45 to serial adapter, will that do the job? All i want it networked for is so i don't have to burn a cd everytime i want to transfer data from the powermac to the macintosh tv.

i know this is a lot ot ask but all help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

imacman

53 Posts
Posted - 24 Jul 2003 :  22:48:30
well that serial to rj45 wont work, Id go ahead and snag a few phone net connectors and then put a local talk bridge on one of your ethernet macs. As for the hard drive not recognizing, download hdsc setup 7.2, that should get it going, and as for ssw get 7.5.5 that works really well

Go to Top of Page

maclover5
LC Doctor/Hot Rodder

Australia
5830 Posts
Posted - 25 Jul 2003 :  01:03:30
OMG! A Mint condition MacTV! You are one lucky man...so lucky that you would be silly to have not bought a lotto ticket on the day you got it!!!!!

"**** em" - Jobs in regards to customers
Warrior maclover5
68kMLA

Official 68kMLA Detective
Number of 68ks Liberated: 7
Number of Contraband (PPC) Liberated from the Dumpster: 1Go to Top of Page

elementforlife
Starting Member

4 Posts