Compact Resq's
Author Topic  
Mobile_tech
Starting Member

USA
8 Posts
Posted - 23 May 2003 :  06:20:05
Howdy Folks,

Well over the last week I have been digging around my various "storage" niche around the house, and I have found a number of Compact Macs. I finish wiring up the whole place about a month ago with 10BaseT, and now I was thinking I might put these guys back into service.

#1 SE/30 128 Megs of RAM/500Meg HD. Strangely this lil guy is dead. I have had this unit for years, it was my first Mac (ok ok I admit it, I am a PC Network admin by day). I put it away about a year old, WORKING. Now nadda. No powerup. No Chimes. No nothing. No idea why. Sucks cause it has about 60% of my older system 7 stuff on it. Suggestions?? Also the only SE I have with a Ethernet Card.

#2 SE/30 32 Megs/40 Meg HD. Boots to 7.01 fine... most of the time. First boot, I get the ? floopy, power off and on, and the drive boots right up. Replace the drive? (Have a box of 10 230 Meggers I picked up for a buck each).

#3 SE 1 Meg/20. DOA no idea. Found it in the trash.

#4 Color Classic. 36 Megs/230 Meg 575 upgrade. Ethernet. PURRRRRRRRs

#5 Color Classic. 10 Megs/80 Meg. System 7.1. Has a DaynaPort Ethernet card, but I can NOT get 7.1 to see the card. Errors out.
Sighhhh.

#6 Color Classic. Unknown. havent powered it up yet.

#7 Color Classic. Unknown. same as above.

#8 SE/30 4Megs/40. Needs EVERYTHING, but works.

#9 Mac Classic. No idea what to use this puppy for. I bought a Carrying Case for my Color Classic, and this guy was inside and the guy threw it in free!). Works good. Ram is maxed. Case and Screen look new.... but NO expansion.