All Forums
 Lounge
 Zap! 240v right through me!
Author Topic  
Flash

Australia
637 Posts
Posted - 26 Mar 2003 :  08:50:30
Sometimes I work in audio, sometimes I'm a producer.... right now I'm a lighting technician. And today i managed to electrocute myself - big time. The show has a rig of 500 odd lights, and one of the globes had blown, so I set about changing it. I opened the lamp, and figured the circuit was live, so I unplugged it - or so I thought. I had actually unplugged another circuit. Unawares, I put my hand inside, and next thing you know....BANG! The light (literally) exploded, and I got 240v straight through my body. Up the right arm (the one changing the bulb), through the chest and up the other arm (which completed the circuit to earth via the truss) All of this while I am six metres off the ground. All I can say is "F**ken OUCH!, god damn that hurt!!!" Half an hour later, once the shock had passed (no pun intended) I was back to normal. Whatever that is.....

- - - - - - - - - - - - -
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing, but it sure beats a blank stare for starting a conversation.

68k ParaMedic

G4from128k

USA
873 Posts
Posted - 26 Mar 2003 :  08:57:47
Sounds like you really reset your PRAM. What year do you think it is???

Glad you didn't fall out of the sky.

Peace,

G4From128k

by Day: Mild-Mannered Engineer and Trapeze(tm) Artist
by Night: Colonel of Truth, Justice, and the Macintosh Way
Reserve Officer in 68kMLA Cantankerous Coot Contingent
Go to Top of Page

Trash80toG-4
NIGHT STALKER

USA
2899 Posts
Posted - 26 Mar 2003 :  09:30:53
quote:

I opened the lamp, and figured the circuit was live, so I unplugged it - or so I thought. I had actually unplugged another circuit.