Quadra / Centris
 My NEW Q-840-A/V
Author Topic  
cinemafia
Guerrilla Recon Leader

USA
2965 Posts
Posted - 15 Jan 2002 :  09:03:52
Okay, okay, enough bragging. Anyway, I swapped a 4x tray loader along with a 2.1GB and a 4.2GB drive into it, both are 7,200 RPM's. However, I'm having a bitch of a time trying to get to the RAM. This is my first time inside an 840, so I don't know how to remove the drive shelf to get to the Mobo, if anybody has instructions or pics that would be great.

I think I may just abandon my poject IIfx for a while and put my FWB Card in it. Yeah....

666th poster to the
68K Macintosh Liberation Army Forums

Mod of the Mac II series Forums
Total 68K Macs liberated: 6
Visit my site!

FireWire is fast
General, 4 star

USA
1559 Posts
Posted - 15 Jan 2002 :  10:42:24
*boiling over with jelousy*

I'm sure the 840av service manual is uploaded onto our 68kmla hotline server. I had a bitch of a time getting at the RAM in my 650 (you have to remove the drive chassis to get a good shot at it), and I didn't know you had to remove the power supply in order to remove the drive chassis. service manual service manual service manual

FireWire is fast
General, 4 star
Forum moderator
68k Macintosh Liberation ArmyGo to Top of Page

cinemafia
Guerrilla Recon Leader

USA
2965 Posts
Posted - 15 Jan 2002 :  11:04:02
Cool, if I can't find it on our hotline server I'll try MacGuru's.

Whee!

666th poster to the

Visit my site!Go to Top of Page

Wonkothesane

USA
506 Posts
Posted - 15 Jan 2002 :  14:38:06
The Quadra A/Vs are nice macs. Congratulations on your find. BTW, do you know how to use the Video Capture? What cable do you need?

Wonko The Sane
Engineer-in-training
1 Mac Liberated (more to come)Go to Top of Page

cinemafia
Guerrilla Recon Leader

USA
2965 Posts
Posted - 15 Jan 2002 :  14:51:47