LC / Performa
 20-pin slot in an LC?
Author Topic  
mathgeek

USA
113 Posts
Posted - 11 Jan 2002 :  15:02:34
I'm new to the LC.
When I popped mine open I was able to identify everything on the motherboard except the mysterious 20-pin slot next to the pram battery.
What is this thing?

mathgeek
68K Macs Liberated: 1

~Coxy
Leader, Tactical Ops Unit

Australia
2822 Posts
Posted - 12 Jan 2002 :  06:36:11
LC PDS, I believe.

~Coxy - Leader, Tactical Operations Unit
68k Macintosh Liberation Army (now with forums!)
00013 Macs liberated.Go to Top of Page

Trash80toG-4
NIGHT STALKER

USA
2899 Posts
Posted - 12 Jan 2002 :  09:03:59
quote:

mysterious 20-pin slot next to the pram battery.

Which LC? Describe the connector. The only 20 pin connector on my 475 is the floppy interface. The LC2 add-on to the LC slot is an 18 "pin" female connector. Was the MC88920 hacked with a socket or is is still surface mounted?

jt

p.s. Where'd that star come fro.... wait a minute.... you guys are ranking members by number of posts.... gotta cut down on these long replies and cran....nah!

p.p.s. Great forum folks, I've learned a lot here already, gotta go see if a battery swap will resurrect my '475 and whack the video on my '605. It never would have crossed my mind that PIZZA BOXES GOT BATTERY POWERED VIDEO CIRCUITRY! No wonder the P-RAM cells only hold up for three years. The lengths to which Apple will go to further cheapen their power supplies never ceases to amaze me.

p.p.p.s. Just to be a contrarian, I'm going to see how long I can avoid getting another star by limiting my responses to one rambling, incoherent rant per day and then it will be easier for for anybody who gets annoyed to igno...nah!

Edited by - Trash80toG-4 on 12 Jan 2002 09:35:15Go to Top of Page

Captain Z
Mobile Ops Commander

USA
637 Posts
Posted - 12 Jan 2002 :  21:38:19