Linix on a Quadra 630
Author Topic  
marmanold
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts
Posted - 04 Nov 2002 :  07:58:04
Hey,
I have an old Quadra 630 that I'd like to play around with. I would like to install Linux or something just so I'll have something to play around with when I'm bored. What is the best type of Linux or Unix for me to install. I'd like for the installation to be simple because I've never done anything like this before. Also, I'm not going to partition the harddrive. I'll just delete the Mac OS and install only Linux on the machine. I'd really like any help I could get on this topic. Thanks.
-Michael

Macs Liberated:
Mac classic II-1st Mac :)
Quadra 630
Mac LC

Marchie
Chaplain

USA
911 Posts
Posted - 04 Nov 2002 :  10:45:52
Well, you HAVE to have a Mac OS partition of 10MB or so to run Linux on a 68k Mac. The Linux hackers have not managed to get around parts of the ROM system yet, and you must boot into the Mac OS first, albeit a very slimmed down one.

Second: http://www.mac.linux-m68k.org/

third: Read thru the FAQ at the above site.

forth: The installation I don't think can be "simple"... maybe "not hard", but there are good walk throughs.

Good luck!

~Marchie

~Chaplain Marchie
Admin of The WonderLAN
~~"We are all Mad here"~~Go to Top of Page

marmanold
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts
Posted - 04 Nov 2002 :  20:16:08
Thanks for your help. Now I have anyother question. When I install this Debian Linux will it already have the operating system installed. I mean the graphical interface. I don't want Linux to type in code. I just want a different operating system to play around with for a while. I also think it would be cool to set up a Linux server from my room or something. Will this Linux run current Linux programs from the web like staroffice and stuff? I don't really know much about Linux so any help would be great.

-Michael

Macs Liberated:
Mac classic II-1st Mac :)
Quadra 630
Mac LCGo to Top of Page

Marchie
Chaplain

USA
911 Posts