General 68kMLA News & Stuff
 My introduction
Author Topic  
ConsoleCowboy
Starting Member

23 Posts
Posted - 18 Oct 2002 :  10:43:05
Hi there !

I had been reading the forum for a few day and start posting in "Balloon Help" this morning. I live in Quebec City. I am a Linux support analyst. My technical background revolve around PC. However, I like to try out new platform in my spare time (I own a Sun SparcStation 10 and an HP Appollo 712/80).

Strangely, I dont have much interest in the Mac platform until. I owned a Performa 6400 for a few months a long time ago, but it ran LinuxPPC most of the time. I had been introduced to Macintosh in my elementary school. I don't remember which model it was, but they where monobloc from around 87~88. I always liked the look of these machines but never really had the chance to work on one until recently.

I found recently a few 68K monobloc in garbage and other place. Right now, I have a working SE (without the SuperDrive) and a non-working Mac Classic II. I have the opportunity to buy a IIsi for 5$ (no mouse/keyboard and no monitor) for 5$. I think I will take it.

The SE will be "refurbished", loaded with freeware and given to my son. The Classic I'll try to fix and see afterward. The IIsi, if working, will be loaded with Linux to serve my LocalTalk-only (thus unusable for the moment) LaserWriter IINT on the LAN. I would really like to get my hand on a SE/30 or a Color Classic II so I could run Linux comfortably on a monobloc Mac.

Collecting and/or refurbishing old Mac for friend and relative seem like an interesting hobby to me. I like these machine and I love a good challenge. Since they are usually free or cheap, it won't break the bank. I have a lot of question so I plan to be really active for the coming weeks.

Also, I am currently supplying in a local charity ("L'Entrepot des Sourds" here in Quebec City) where they have a lot of good deal on older Mac gear. Among thing of interest, there are :