All Forums
 68k Software
 Any Programmers In The House?
Author Topic  
Citon X600

Canada
206 Posts
Posted - 12 Oct 2002 :  00:49:00
This is a small cry for help in the Macintosh emulation scene. There is a nice utility at http://sourceforge.net/projects/vaporcd/ that can emulate a complete IDE CD-ROM.

What I am asking is if anyone who is good at programming could use the source code and make a Virtual Hard Disk program. Because currently in emulation we are forced to use disk images which lack the look and feel of real SCSI Volumes. However, when you enabled ASPI in Basilsik II you can mount any IDE device as a SCSI device within the Macintosh.

It would be really good to have this program. I know many still have thier actual Macs...myself I got a free LC III at a Mac computer shop and i have no way of testing whether it works. But I can use it via emulation.. which means for me it's legal and I have liberated it. :)

I am not a programmer unfortuneatly.. :( but hopefully there is someone who could have a peek at the source code and see maybe it would be that hard to add random read/write block IDE support. :)

My goal in the next while is to liberate as many Mac Roms as I can. Because sad to say allot of times they throw the whole machine out when the rom can still be put to good use. The ROM is like the soul of every Macintosh. :)

So there is my wish. Have I beena good enough boy so Santa will grant it? :D

Citon x600

catsdorule

Canada
1627 Posts
Posted - 12 Oct 2002 :  13:41:41
I'm learning real basic so i'd probably not be very much help sry.

-Danny
Forum: http://www24.brinkster.com/catsdorule1/
"Windows(win-doze): A 32-bit extension to a 16-bit graphical shell of an 8-bit operating system originally coded for a 4-bit processor by a two-bit company that can't stand one bit of competition."Go to Top of Page

II2II

Canada
115 Posts
Posted - 12 Oct 2002 :  15:40:55
quote: