Newton
 2100 or emate 300?
Author Topic  
madscientist
Starting Member

United Kingdom
26 Posts
Posted - 22 Sep 2002 :  16:01:09
i am currently bidding on an emate on ebay but im probably going to be outbid (its at my maximum bid of $100- not much but the shipping to northern ireland will be about 4 times that) and theres a 2100 with buy it now for $70 (and is about 1/3 od the weight) so i want to know which ones better?
im going to buy one of them anyway, but convince me why. what are its limits? mp3s, size, airport/ethernet, internet, ect.
what kinds of cool stuff can it do when im on the bus home from school, that kind of thing....
what kind of pc cards can it take (or at least has drivers for)?
is it any good with games?
can you write programs for it easily (im not a programmer but im working on it. slowly.)

also, what the heck is dongle? it doesnt sound suitible for children at any rate.

im irish, it is my duty to ask stupid questions.

(macs liberated:3 (well, its only been 2 months....)

Wonkothesane

USA
506 Posts
Posted - 22 Sep 2002 :  18:10:26
A 2100 can play mp3s (http://www.40hz.org/MADNewton/), but an emate can't. The 2100 is also much smaller. The emate has a larger screen, though. I'd get the 2100,but only if it comes with a keyboard and other accessories (carrying case, etc).

Wonko The Sane
Engineer-in-training
3 Macs Liberated
"You can't possibly be a scientist if you mind people thinking that you're a fool."- Wonko The SaneGo to Top of Page

~Coxy
Leader, Tactical Ops Unit

Australia
2822 Posts
Posted - 22 Sep 2002 :  21:25:46
The 2100 is much more powerful, but an eMate is tougher, with a built in keyboard and also serial port.

A dongle in computer terminology is just parlance for any little adaptor/terminator. In Newton-speak, it probably means a serial adaptor for the Newton Interconnect port.

~Coxy - Leader, Tactical Operations Unit
Mayor of NuBus City v3.0
Go to Top of Page

Kami

Canada
132 Posts
Posted - 22 Sep 2002 :  23:29:52