Mac II Line
 IIci analog to digital help
Author Topic  
n3philim
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts
Posted - 13 Sep 2002 :  19:52:29
Hello, I'm a physics student in dire need of help. My teacher handed me a IIci, a SpringBoard, two SupportBoards, and a 1288 serial card and three or four IndustryPacks, and told me to program. (All the parts are from a defunct company called GreenSpring.)

I need serious help!

Like what sort of program should I use? I have Hypercard 2.1 on the comp, but I'm worried about its ability to take in the data. I don't have any experinece coding in anything other than HTML and CSS.

Any help you guys can give me would be awesome.

Thank you all in advance.

-n3philim

ehurtley

USA
63 Posts
Posted - 13 Sep 2002 :  20:08:32
Okay, maybe I'm a little off-base here, but what kind of teacher hands random computer parts to a random student and says "start programming"?? I'm assuming that you made yourself out to be a programmer? If not, then just tell him that you don't know how to program, and be done with it. If you volunteered, then I'd suggest finding a programming language (HyperCard is a scripting language, not a programming language) like Pascal, C, or even BASIC. If you want to impress a science guy, learn COBOL or FORTRAN. I have no idea about that hardware, though. You'd need to get drivers and/or programming data on them.

Proud Liberator of over 25 Macintoshes!Go to Top of Page

n3philim
Starting Member

USA
6 Posts
Posted - 13 Sep 2002 :  20:17:35
^_^;; I sorta kinda volunteered. It was the only way I got to work on a Mac. I kill PCs, so I had to take the only option.
Besides, my teacher said he'd get me whatever resources I need to learn to program. I'm an artist who wants to prove that she's more than just someone who knows how to use pencils and pens and paper constructively to make art. I want to learn to program. I just don't know where to start.

Go to Top of Page

Trash80toG-4
NIGHT STALKER

USA
2899 Posts