68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums
Home | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 General 68kMLA News & Stuff
 Officially indroducing myself to the group...
Author Topic  
kastegir

USA
58 Posts
Posted - 01 Sep 2002 :  23:48:21
Well, I suppose I should officially introduce myself to the group. I've been reading and posting for a couple weeks, since I ran across the site doing research for a Powerbok 180 I was restoring.

I've been working with Macs since 1985 and have been a confirmed Mac addict ever since. I got my first Mac (sort of) in 1989. Actually it was an Amax II Mac plus emulator for the Amiga. I'd been an Apple IIGS guy until I was blown away by the Amiga 2000. I later sold the Amiga and picked up a Mac IIvx, and have had real Macs ever since.

My current stable includes a non-backlit Portable, an SE/30 (I always seem to have one of these on hand, they're my favorite classic mac), a Quadra 700, a Powerbook 180 (and another on the way from eBay as of tonight), a G4 Cube (my main desktop machine), an iBook 600/combo (,y main laptop), a Pismo G3/500 (that I gave to my wife) and an iMac DV/SE (that we got for our son). I bought the Portable because I saw one in college and always wanted one. After buying and restoring it, I plan to sell it on eBay sometime soon. The SE/30 is pretty tricked out. It has the Micron Xceed internal greyscale video card and a Daystar 40mHz accellerator. I've also got a scsi/ethernet adapter, so I can surf the web with it. It's in storage for now, until I find a good place to put it in the house. My wife doesn't exactly share my need to have these old boxes aroun everywhere...

I just got into 1xx series powerbooks and have bought a couple 180s to work on. I'd really like to get a 180c, but haven't been able to get one at a good price yet. I even managed to track down a VST Thinpak external battery, so I can run the Powerbooks for a loooong time.