All Forums
 General 68kMLA News & Stuff
 Introducing myself...
Author Topic  
ehurtley

USA
63 Posts
Posted - 30 Aug 2002 :  23:55:23
Okay, first, I have to admit that I use Windows machines. I'm sorry. I'm in a 12-step program to stop...

Who am I? My name is Ed Hurtley, I'm in my mid 20s, and I live in Portland, Oregon. I currently run my own computer consulting company, Rent-A-Geek, Inc. And, of course, I liberate Macs.

I started using Macs back in 1989 when I was exposed to a Plus at the local sci/tech museum (Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, a.k.a. OMSI) playing NetTrek, or some variant thereof. The next year, my school got outfitted with a bunch of SEs (two whole labs of 'em, one with HDs, one with dual floppies; plus a IIci and an SE/30.) After I graduated high school, I was seduced by the dark side... Windows. (I actually disliked the Microsoft OSes, and dabbled in OS/2 for many years before IBM finally killed it, and have played with Be386 and Linux, although I have always had at least one Windows machine since 1992.) Then, after college, I got a surplus PowerBook 5300c that a company was giving away (well, they threw it away, and I snagged it before the trash man came.....) That reminded me of my original love, the Macintosh.

Since then, I have amassed a collection consisting of:
Plus, SE, Classic, SE/30, Classic II (sadly, she's dead now..), Color Classic (upgraded with an honest-to-goodness CC2 mobo), IIci, IIsi, IIfx (The eBay auction for the 8*24GC card ends in 2 days... Oh, yeah...), LC, LC III, Centris 650, Quadra 610, Quadra 660AV, 2 Quadra 700s, PMac6100/66 DOS Compatible (486/66 on the PDS slot), PM7200/75, PM7500/100 (upgraded to 604/120), PM7300/200, PM8500/120 (dying a slow painful death. I can't bear to put her down), PMG3 rev a, iMac rev b, 2 PowerBook 5300c's, PB5300ce, PB1400cs (upgraded to a G3/233), and a PB3400c (recieved dead, going to rip him open some day). Total MHz: 2371, total RAM: 1301.5MB