All Forums
 General 68kMLA News & Stuff
 New to the Army
Author Topic  
Private Entrance
Starting Member

17 Posts
Posted - 01 Dec 2001 :  19:21:17
As this is my very first post, and I am still new to this outfit, let me introduce myself. I am Private Entrance, unknown footsoldier in the war to liberate the venerable 68k Macs. I joined up because it was a Mac Plus (1MB RAM, System 3) that saved my life from the beige tedium of the DOS minions. Now, I feel that I must repay that nameless hero, by saving as many of his buddies that I possibly can.

To date I have liberated and given shelter to:
My first Mac, a Mac Plus with maxed out RAM (4MB!), and the FannyMac to cool off that huge amount of RAM. It had a whopping 33MB HDD, but that died and I lost the supreme program, Spectre! Then it started exhibiting the most bizzare symptom, it would lose all power, then flicker on and off as it tried to reboot, and the floppy would make trashing sounds. Well I cracked to case open and resoldered the Logic Board Cable, and it's been a happy camper ever since. I still have this one.

Two years ago I saved a 512k Mac from curbside trash collection atr a friend's house on the other side of the continent. Here's my dedication for ya': I paid $120 to have it and a printer shipped to my side of the continent! And I still haven't even opened the boxes yet...

Last year I received another Mac Plus. Haven't had the time yet for 'triage', don't know it's specs.

And then I got all the extras. Another friend asked me if I wasnted to save some old Macs from the garbage pile. I got a 68040 Centris 650, complete with a Video Spigot and a whole lot of Japanese on it. This package also came with a pile of HDDs and extra stuff of all kinds.