Retrobright retrobrite tub idea

I got this tub at Tractor Supply. It's the perfect size for an SE or SE/30. I filled a windshield washer fluid container with water and gravel so it displaces water and weighs down the Mac and then jammed that inside the Mac body and put the front bezel on. The Mac then went upside down into the container and I filled it with water and liquid peroxide hair bleach #40. The liquid juuust covers the feet. Perfect fit. Now I'm just waiting for the results. The container is clear but it's late so I'm not sure it'll get much sunshine. 

PXL_20210403_215924644.jpg

PXL_20210403_221114687.jpg

PXL_20210403_221136793.jpg

PXL_20210403_221744595.jpg

PXL_20210403_221834432.jpg

PXL_20210403_222309746.MP.jpg

PXL_20210403_221756917.jpg

Should have popped the Apple logo off first -- I hope it doesn't fade too much! The peroxide can also make the rubber feet gummy, always good to take those off first too. 

Edited by mattsoft

Doh! I'm new to this. I bleached an SE that turned out great but I brushed on the creme bleach on that one so the logo and feet were married off. I'll go pop the logo and feet off the SE/30 now. Thanks for the reminder!

• 68kMLA Supporter

Welcome to the forum!