SSD Experiments on PPC & 68K PowerBooks

Since I have been doing this for almost 10 years, I want to continue the experiments further and post my results. Hopefully others will share their experiences of what they found.

Note: These experiments are done on PowerBooks with PCMCIA slots and IDE Hard Drive Ports. That's anything from the PB 190/5300 to G3/G4 iBooks and PowerBooks. It also includes the 500-series PowerBooks as they have an optional PCMCIA slots and the PowerBook 2300 and PowerBook 150 (I think) which has an IDE Hard Drive Port.

In both cases, to work with a Compact Flash Card (CF card for short) you will need a CF card to IDE or CF card to PCMCIA Adapter. With all other 68K PowerBooks, you would need a CF to Laptop-SCSI adapter, which I do not have but would like to one day. I have many PowerBooks from which they could benefit from a SSD because of their dying hard drives.

There are also IDE SSDs which can also be used, which will also be discussed. I used KingSpec PATA/PATA II SSD on a couple of PowerBooks and they work great. But I have heard others complain about KingSpec's SSDs. I think its the luck of the draw here, and in late years they have improved. Other technologies will also be discussed as well - Linear Flash and SRAM Drives usually in PCMCIA Format will also be discussed as soon as somebody has access to them.

Thus far, I have found that CF card on a PCMCIA Adapter is faster than a CF card on a IDE Adapter, with the same CF Card being used. Depending on the CF card, this difference can be huge, more than double; because the limiting factor is the speed of the IDE Port and the PCMCIA's connection to the system bus being direct and the IDE Bus is not. In either case, both adapters are faster than a hard drive, twice as fast or faster. I can discuss details later.