Looking for : HiRes 840av motherboard photos

Hi Everyone,

Just wondering if someone has high resolution pictures of the 840av motherboard, where individual traces can be distinguished. I bought a broken 840av with acid damage and would like to attempt to fix it.

Thank you

You may also want to look at schematics: look for "Macintosh Quadra 840av Schematic (bomarc).pdf" on Google.

Those motherboards are worth saving ! Also don't loose 2 month of debugging like be because you plugged your ADB keyboard on the S-Video port.

Good luck !

Thanks for the replies everyone.

@demik Thanks for the tip :) I fear I may have bitten off more than I can chew with this one, I bought the machine feeling nostalgic.. oh well.. oh well, I'll take it as a learning journey. Those schematics in the pdf are detailed, thanks! They will come in handy, but as I'm a noob it may take a while to navigate them.

I noticed C385 has been ripped right off the motherboard, so I'll need to replace it as a start.

The case came in rightful crap state.. I'm not daring enough to use the power supply that came with it. Time to find a way to test the thing first.

On 2/23/2021 at 3:20 AM, Kai Robinson said:

*pokes head in*

Did someone say reproduction board? :D

Haha :D This one will be one hell of a challenge…

@casper I will be working on my 840av board next week. If you need some pictures, please post what you need here

Edited by demik
On 2/17/2021 at 1:54 AM, casper said:

The case came in rightful crap state.. I'm not daring enough to use the power supply that came with it. Time to find a way to test the thing first.

I worked through this with my Quadra 840av last fall. I evenually got it working with more bodge wires than I care to admit!

I did create an adapter board to use a standard ATX power supply, if you're concerned about it. I think I still have a couple left hanging around somewhere.

https://github.com/akuker/mAcTX_Quadra_840av

• 3 weeks later...