Restoring a 6100/66 DOS Compatibility, need help with software

So  I am restoring a PowerMac 6100/66 DOS Compatibility computer and setting up new software on the SCSI2SD I installed on it (which by the way seems much, much slower than even the 500MB HDD that was original to it.)

I am still learning when it comes to classic MAC OS, I was wondering if someone could point me to a few applications on Macintosh Garden or another site. I am looking first for a program I have seen that came on my Macintosh LC and various SE's where in the upper left of desktop was a blinking icon to let you know the hard drive activity.

Secondly I was looking for a program that would display hardware specific information. On OSX you can list detailed hardware specifics but on older MAC OS's there is no way I know of. What program would you recommend to display cpu type/speed, cache, rom versions, etc for machine specific hardware info?

Thanks

edit: Also, how can I open DMG files on MAC OS 8?

I believe one of the better programs that will help list and also test your built-in hardware is a program called MacBench. It will test your hardware against a standardized list of other machines. It likely has the 6100 already in it. As for the HD activity. there are standalone programs, but there is one included with programs liek Norton Utilities 3.0, which should work on wahtever flavor of System software you are running on the 6100, and I would recommend running on it as is.

I also have disk images of all of the original 6100 DOS Compatibility floppies, if you need those as well.

Which version of SCSI2SD do you have installed? There should be no slowness; in fact, it should be slightly speedier depending on what version you have. That could possibly depend on there being incorrect software settings on the SCSI2SD, or possibly due to a slow SD card if not one of the newer, speedier ones.

Edited by LaPorta