Dkopsieker

Reinstall System 7 from scratch

First off, I want to say I’m new to the 68k Mac scene.  I grew up on Apple II and company Macs, but never got into the hardware or setup of them...

I have a Mac classic II that will not boot from the hard drive.  I would like to reinstall system 7 from scratch it not sure where to start.  I have a few blank floppies, a windows machine, a MacBook Pro that’s about a year old and a USB floppy drive that I can connect to the Mac or the windows machine.

is there any way to accomplish this with that hardware?

thanks!!

Welcome to the club. With what you have on hand, you should be able to write to floppies without a problem. But here's a few tips to kick things off...

General maintenance:

- Capacitors on the logic board. They need replacing. Absence of sound is a typical symptom. You'll have to replace them or have someone replace them sooner or later. If not, it will quit working altogether in a few months/years. 

- Battery. Those can leak and destroy the board. When you get it recapped, remove the battery or replace it. It's just there to keep track of time and a few parameters like 32 bit addressing, mouse and double click speed etc.

- Hard drive. They are now more than 25 years old and some of them are just dead. If yours can't boot, it might be a goner...

With the 'bad news' out of the way, where's what to do:

- Get a set of floppy images from macintoshgarden.org, macintoshrepository.org, or the Mac GUI. 7.1 should be plenty fast on the Classic II. 7.5 has more features but might be slower.

- using macOS, you can write to floppy disks using the dd command.

from savagetaylor.com (but edited)

1. Open Terminal
  2. type diskutil listand press return
  3. You should see a list of all attached drives for your system with their names, you want the identifier of the USB floppy drive eg. something like /dev/disk2
  4. Use dd with the correct input and output options, “sudo dd if=INPUTFILE of=OUTPUTFILE”: