Magicanz

Macintosh Classic (one) with no power.

Hello! I have a Macintosh Classic with an analog board that (I think) doesn't output any power. When trying to turn it on, no sound, no picture, only nothing. I've tried measuring current through the molex connector with no success. There is also no visible leakage or damage at all. Therefore I think the Analog board is just not outputting any power.

The thing is, I have 4 other compact macs (not Classics) with working analog boards. I was just thinking if it would be possible to use an Analog board from a Macintosh Plus/SE in the Classic just to see if it runs. I would never do this without being absolutely sure, and because I'm no expert and haven't been working with Macs or electrics for much time I ask here.

If using another analog board doesn't work, does anyone have any idea of any checks I can make to see what the issue might be?

Thank you!

They are COMPLETELY different things.

Classics and CLassic IIs need new caps. All around. Every. Single. Time. All the time. Dont even bother trying to do anything without attempting to replace caps first.

It might not be the cause of your issue, but it will rule it out.

25 minutes ago, Johnnya101 said:

They are COMPLETELY different things.

Classics and CLassic IIs need new caps. All around. Every. Single. Time. All the time. Dont even bother trying to do anything without attempting to replace caps first.

It might not be the cause of your issue, but it will rule it out.

Alright, I will check it out. Since I don't know too much about these things (or high-voltage electrics in the first place) do you think it would even be a good idea to try? There are no recapping services in my country as far as I know.

Id send it out and have them done. Here in the US, usually something like this would cost around $50-$80 USD. I dont know what country you are in, but there might be another member that could do it for you?