BadGoldEagle

Apple CD SC - Not reading disks properly??

Hi all

Happy new year to you guys and gals out there.

I picked up a CD SC last Friday. It's not in a great shape: there's a small crack on the top panel (not big enough to have caused serious damage to the drive) and it's pretty yellow. But that doesn't concern me right now. I'll fix the looks later.

When I first plugged it in, it would eject disks constantly, no matter what. I opened it up and cleaned the lens as suggested by CelGen and bear here. Now it will attempt to read them: amber light comes on when disk is inserted, and now it the disk will spin up as it should. Makes the right kind of noises too. It ticks every second.

But the drive access light (the amber one) won't flash at all when disk is spinning. Is it normal?

I don't have any SCSI Macs with me at the moment to test it. (I'm a student and the Macs are stashed at my folks' place 15mls away: that's a 1h15 drive, there's a lot of traffic). 

The big question is: The CD player in my Hi-Fi won't automatically start playing, I have to press "play" on the remote control before it jumps to track 1. Does the CD SC automatically starts playing an Audio-CD or do I need to tell it to through the CD control panel on a Mac?

I left the scsi circuitry at the back unplugged (SCSI ID selector, SCSI data cable and 'scsi audio'), that shouldn't have any effect since there's nothing plugged in to a Mac anyway. I hooked up my headset to the 3.5mm jack, I can hear some static when I turn the volume knob so I think the headphone board is okay. Same thing occurs when I connect the phono plugs at the back to my HiFi.

The problem is I don't know if it works, maybe it does? But the Owner's manual's nowhere to be found. And the service manual isn't really helpful.

If you have the answer, I'd be happy to hear it. Thanks!

Hi lambert,

Probably the CD SC is waiting a signal from the SCSI side to keep on going, probably won't work as a standalone device.