68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums
68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums
Home | Members | Search | FAQ
 All Forums
 Quadra / Centris
 Commodore 1084s monitor
Author Topic  
shaktiman
Senior Member


United Kingdom
1226 Posts
Posted - 03 Sep 2002 :  09:40:12
my old monitor, Commodore 1084s.

I want to use it with my quadra 840av, & have been assured it would be impractical for a normal display, for the desktop etc.

But I found the manual which describes attatching the monitor via composite video display.

are composite audio cables just the same as composite video cables?

I have 4 composite inputs on the monitor as follows:-

CHROMA red
CVBS/l yellow
AUDIO-R black
AUDIO-L white

The monitor also uses a 9 pin D connector to recieve RGB signals.

What would/could I get from my Quadras composite video out port?

Now here's a laugh;

I also found an Amiga rf adapter.

This has DB 23 connector(which is supposed to plug into the Amiga) & rf out & Composite audio in, & composite video out.

The video on my Amiga(owned for a couple of months then thrown) was not good & I think this unit was a bit faulty.

Does anyone want it or can suggest a use for it or shall I throw it?

shaktiman

Quadra 840av 128MB ram 2MB vram cd drive(caddy),1 caddy!:-)1.44 floppy drive,inject :-(1.2 gig drive
2 monitors 15" & 14" os 8.1 56k modem Stylewriter 1200 Zodiac speakers Umax 1220s scanner
3 year old son!

~Coxy
Leader, Tactical Ops Unit


Australia
2822 Posts
Posted - 03 Sep 2002 :  17:43:14
Well, if you picked up a semi-rare NuBus 9-pin video card, you could connect it to the DB-9 port on the monitor, I guess.

~Coxy - Leader, Tactical Operations Unit
Mayor of NuBus City v3.0
Go to Top of Page

Trash80toG-4
NIGHT STALKER


USA
2899 Posts
Posted - 03 Sep 2002 :  19:33:43
quote:

Well, if you picked up a semi-rare NuBus 9-pin video card, you could connect it to the DB-9 port on the monitor, I guess.


Have you got the pinouts for a nine pin port to check against the standard Mac DB-15 signals, coxy?

Shakti, have you got the pinouts for the signals you need?

Has anybody got the pinouts for the Radius DB-9 on the FPD?

Methinks it's time for a Peripherals Pinouts Project thread!

Has anybody else got an HD-15 NuBus Video Card? Mine's from E-Machines and I've got NO CLUE as to WTF it is! :rolleyes:

jt .
Trash Hauler: call sign: eight-ball
C.O. AC-130H SpecOps 68kMLAAFGo to Top of Page

~Coxy
Leader, Tactical Ops Unit


Australia
2822 Posts
Posted - 03 Sep 2002 :  21:34:59
quote:

Have you got the pinouts for a nine pin port to check against the standard Mac DB-15 signals, coxy?

Shouldn't be too hard to find, isn't that just EGA/CGA standard?

~Coxy - Leader, Tactical Operations Unit
Mayor of NuBus City v3.0
Go to Top of Page

shaktiman
Senior Member


United Kingdom
1226 Posts
Posted - 04 Sep 2002 :  00:56:49
Cheers for that, so..........

I guess I could attach the monitor to a video player & use it as a tv?

so Dana, would you advocate that I connect my quadra from the stereo video out to the commodore 1084s monitor?

quote:
Shakti, have you got the pinouts for the signals you need?

Hmmm I could get them, I found a good website once but I'm hoping to use either composite or stereo video output.

Dana,

quote:
The
audio ports are normal everyday RCA line-in ports, just as the 840av has,
I think you could take a second look at the quadra's ports, heres what my quadra has:-

Composite video in
Composite video out
stereo video out (4 pin)
stereo video in (7 pin)
db 15 monitor out
& I have a nubus video card with db 15 out.

the only audio out however is just a phono speaker out.

I think I have a monitor fetish, I have 3.

as you can tell at the moment I could attach 4 displays at the moment.

I think I shall pop along to Belkin & see if they have a stereo video out wire to....

quote:
"f you have s-video out on any of your machines too, Luminance goes into the CVBS/L and Chroma
goes into... well, the Chroma port - and it'll display a little nicer."

cvbsl & Chroma?

now,,,,,,,,

is there a nubus card with good audio outputs?, for connecting my quadra though a music center?

quote:

shaktiman

Quadra 840av 128MB ram 2MB vram cd drive(caddy),1 caddy!:-)1.44 floppy drive,inject :-(1.2 gig drive
2 monitors 15" & 14" os 8.1 56k modem Stylewriter 1200 Zodiac speakers Umax 1220s scanner
3 year old son!Go to Top of Page

maclover5
LC Doctor/Hot Rodder


Australia
5830 Posts
Posted - 04 Sep 2002 :  05:13:53
I'm not sure if this helps anyone, but:

DB9 = EGA
DB15 = VGA/Mac monitor connector

As long as you KNOW its a video card!!!! (which, of course, you already do. We've been through that already. )

--------------------------

"I keep my friends close, but I keep my enemies closer" - Unkown

Warrior maclover5
68k Macintosh Liberation Army

Number of 68ks Liberated: 6

Edit - gah...my brain msut be more toasted than i thought...

Edited by - maclover5 on 05 Sep 2002 14:22:06Go to Top of Page

shaktiman
Senior Member


United Kingdom
1226 Posts
Posted - 04 Sep 2002 :  06:22:46
great,

My monitor is currently attached to my vhs(scart to composite). It is a pleasant picture to look at.

quote:
According to Everymac.com you should have a speaker out, and a Headphone-out. The
speaker-out is 16-bit stereo, and again, if you had the right cable to split that into the 2 RCA type
connectors, you'd have audio-out which could go into the 1084 or into most stereo systems.

Yes this confused me as I only have speaker out, how about the other 840 av owners? do you have speaker and headphone?

The 840av's do vary as with other macs.

The terminology lesson was helpful, cheers Dana

Another question to the 840av owners, how many pins on the S-Video out?

I have 7 pin out, but it looks like one of the holes has been made by unnatural methods, ie:- someone sticking a pin in.


shaktiman

Quadra 840av 128MB ram 2MB vram cd drive(caddy),1 caddy!:-)1.44 floppy drive,inject :-(1.2 gig drive
2 monitors 15" & 14" os 8.1 56k modem Stylewriter 1200 Zodiac speakers Umax 1220s scanner
3 year old son!Go to Top of Page

Trash80toG-4
NIGHT STALKER


USA
2899 Posts
Posted - 04 Sep 2002 :  10:28:14
The hardwarebook pinout is a good match for this C65 pinout:

http://wired.hard.ru/data/pin_C65Video.shtml

It's interesting that this site cooperates with hardwarebook:

http://wired.hard.ru/pin_Video.shtml

http://wired.hard.ru/pin_Slots.shtml

jt .
Trash Hauler: call sign: eight-ball
C.O. AC-130H SpecOps 68kMLAAFGo to Top of Page

SiliconValleyPirate
Junior Member


United Kingdom
273 Posts
Posted - 04 Sep 2002 :  11:04:41
RE: Amiga cable -
quote:

Does anyone want it or can suggest a use for it or shall I throw it?

You can send it to me if you like - i had to hack one together from an old plastic 25-pin D plug (hacksawed off 2 holes on one side) and some wire. It's a pretty poor effort. Is yors a properly made one with covers on the plugs and all? I have an Amiga 600 that needs a PSU building for it. Might you have an amiga PSU lying around too?

Back to the 840av.....

I think you can wire an adapter to do 9-pin to 15-pin RGB, not too hard with a soldering in, a short length of 9-core cable and a PC circuit diagram. Be worned though - I don't think the mx Res on an Amiga monitor is gonna be great!

--
Mark Benson

FlatPackMacs http://fpm.gotdns.com

2nd Lieutenant - 68kMLA, LC Quartermaster
Flat Packing Macs for 68k MLA airlift excercises
Macs Liberated = 14!Go to Top of Page

shaktiman
Senior Member


United Kingdom
1226 Posts
Posted - 04 Sep 2002 :  11:20:19

I like it.

Yeah email me your address, but I will send when my funds are healthier, my holiday has just taken virtually all I had.

I will post in the trading forum now.

I threw everything Amiga away, I think. I may have a memory upgrade which upgraded a 500 to 1 meg.

I'll have to have a hunt/rummage for you.

shaktiman

Quadra 840av 128MB ram 2MB vram cd drive(caddy),1 caddy!:-)1.44 floppy drive,inject :-(1.2 gig drive
2 monitors 15" & 14" os 8.1 56k modem Stylewriter 1200 Zodiac speakers Umax 1220s scanner
3 year old son!Go to Top of Page

shaktiman
Senior Member


United Kingdom
1226 Posts
Posted - 05 Sep 2002 :  04:30:09
The only other Amige "legacy" I have is the upgrade module, to upgrade a half meg machine to 1 meg. The memory on it is socketed not soldered so that may be of use.

I also have commodore 64 games.

shaktiman

Quadra 840av 128MB ram 2MB vram cd drive(caddy),1 caddy!:-)1.44 floppy drive,inject :-(1.2 gig drive
2 monitors 15" & 14" os 8.1 56k modem Stylewriter 1200 Zodiac speakers Umax 1220s scanner
3 year old son!

Edited by - shaktiman on 05 Sep 2002 04:33:30Go to Top of Page

   

68k Macintosh Liberation Army Forums

2001-2003 68kMLA

Go To Top Of Page

68k of the Week: kastegir's PowerBook 180.